Daily Archives: December 4, 2010

Mean

I am a huge Taylor Swift fan. Not only is she a writer and producer of her music, but she also is a great role model for young girls. She may wear a short skirt now and then, but let me tell you, she’s not dancing on a strip pole like Miley Cyrus or Britney Spears did.

I’ve always loved Taylor’s music and I was so thrilled to get a copy of her latest album, “Speak Now”. In this album (as well has past albums) she calls out men who have treated her wrong and it is so fantastic. It is such great break up music and I know millions of girls blast Taylor’s music in their cars as they are getting over a broken heart.

And on Taylor’s “Speak Now” album she has a song that would have been my anthem in high school.

“Mean”.

In this song, Taylor calls out whoever is mean to her telling them she is going to rise above it all and move on with her life. This song would have been exactly what I needed in high school. High school was hard for me like it was for so many people. By no stretch of the imagination was I bullied, but I definitely had a difficult time. Basically, I had previously been friends with a group of girls that were always mean to me, so when I eventually left their group my sophomore year, they were persistently mean to me for the rest of high school.

Having said that, I’d like to dedicate Taylor Swift’s song to all the girls who are dealing with mean girls (in high school and beyond). Take comfort in Taylor’s words and know that just like Taylor says,

“You, with your words like knives
And swords and weapons that you use against me,
You, have knocked me off my feet again,
Got me feeling like I’m nothing.
You, with your voice like nails on a chalkboard
Calling me out when I’m wounded.
You, pickin’ on the weaker man.

“Well you can take me down,
With just one single blow.
But you don’t know, what you don’t know,

“Someday, I’ll be living in a big old city,
And all you’re ever gonna be is mean.
Someday, I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me,
And all you’re ever gonna be is mean.
Why you gotta be so mean?

“You, with your switching sides,
And your walk by lies and your humiliation
You, have pointed out my flaws again,
As if I don’t already see them.
I walk with my head down,
Trying to block you out cause I’ll never impress you
I just wanna feel okay again.

“I bet you got pushed around,
Somebody made you cold,
But the cycle ends right now,
You can’t lead me down that road,
You don’t know, what you don’t know”.

Thanks, Taylor.

Thanks for not only writing this song, but also pointing out that they were probably treated poorly and that is why they are mean. Thanks for reminding us not to continue the cycle of meanness and to instead be kind.

Now I’m living in a (sort of) big old city, and while I hope they’ve changed, they probably are still mean.

6 Comments

Filed under Things I love