Daily Archives: December 6, 2010

#reverb10 – Make

I’m apart of this really cool online interactive reflection – bloggers all over reflect on a word a day from December 1- 31. It’s called #reverb10. You should check it out. I started slightly late – on December 4. So far, I’ve been doing the prompts privately in a journal, but I’d thought I’d share a few along the way. Today, I’d like to share my thoughts for today’s word:

December 6 – Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?
(Author: Gretchen Rubin)

Make. This year, the best things I’ve made are friends. I have friends I’ve made in the past years who are wonderful, fantastic, supportive and lovely. I wasn’t particularly looking for more friends when 2010 began.

In my surprise, during my days at the office, I have slowly developed a number of friends through work who have become very special to me. Initially, these women were great mentors and great teachers in the work world. Now, they are not only special to me because of their professional wisdom, but also their dedication to being my friend. I look forward to seeing them everyday, hearing about their lives, family and friends. I have grown so close to them and I value their amazing friendship.

Another friend I met through work has also been a gift in my life. She has continuously invited me to a number of social events, where I’ve got to meet new people, learn new things, and gain more experiences. It has been fantastic to get to know her and her husband.

And the last friend that I’ve made this year that is really special to me is my yoga instructor. Not only does she have a spirit unlike anyone I’ve ever met, but her passion for peace and yoga has been inspiring and so influential.

I’ve made these friendships with conversations, sharing thoughts, sharing hardships. Speaking secrets, giving hope, spending time.

This year, the best things I’ve made are friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Things I've learned